Blog Post

04 November 2009

Preview of Identity guzheng concerto

0 Comment

Identity – Zhongshan Zuang, a new concerto for orchestra and guzheng (Chinese zither) enjoyed a preview performance at the San Gabriel Mission Playhouse on October 24th, 2009. The performance featured guzheng virtuoso Chang Su as soloist, and a 69-piece orchestra led by conductor Case Scaglione, music director of the YMF Debut Orchestra. Identity was composed by Michael Gordon Shapiro, incorporating themes by composer/producer Victor Cheng.

The piece is currently in preparation for a second concert in Los Angeles, with plans underway for performances in Taiwan and mainland China.

Identity Postcard Front


Leave a Reply

Morituri Te Salutant // Michael Gordon Shapiro - Highlights
  1. Morituri Te Salutant // Michael Gordon Shapiro - Highlights
  2. Emerald, Texas // Highlights
  3. Mythic Battle // Highlights
  4. The Yard Sale // Michael Gordon Shapiro - Highlights
  5. Investigations // Highlights
  6. Home Room // Highlights
  7. Sands of Arabia // Highlights
  8. Spider Cult // Highlights
  9. Poker Night // Highlights