November 2016
0 Comment

Guzheng concerto performed by China National Symphony Orchestra


I’m very pleased that the Identity guzheng concerto will be performed by the China National Symphony Orchestra on November 13th in Beijing. The concerto will be included with a handful of other pieces for a concert celebrating the 150th birthday of Sun Yat-Sen. The CNSO had previously performed the concerto in 2011.

To use the piece’s full name, Identity: Zhongshan Zhuang is a concerto for guzheng and orchestra that I wrote with Chinese producer/composer Victor Cheng. Since 2010 we’ve been fortunate enough to see it performed many times both in the United States and China, including by prestigious ensembles like the San Francisco Symphony and Chicago Sinfonietta.

Guzheng virtuoso Su Chang has been our soloist since the very first performance, and she’ll be returning once again for this concert.

If you’d like to hear the piece or are just curious what a guzheng sounds like, you can find the album on Amazon or iTunes. (It also appears to be available for streaming via Apple Music, but I can’t figure out how to link to it.)

June 2016
0 Comment

“A Feast of Snacks” at the 2016 Hollywood Fringe

My stage musical A Feast of Snacks is currently running at the Hollywood Fringe Festival. Feast is a collection of four short musical comedies, each about fifteen minutes in length. Most of the shows are award-winning graduates of various short play festivals around the world. Produced by Theatre Unleashed (of which I am a newly minted artist-in-residence), the production runs through late July.

Showtimes and ticket information can be found here. If you’re in the area, I hope you can make it!


March 2016

Goldstar interview

I was interviewed by Goldstar, beloved purveyor of discount live event tickets, as part of their “Inspired By” series focusing on creative types. The questions focused on live performance, as that’s Goldstar’s raison d’être .

To read my interview, just follow this handy link.

January 2016

Guzheng concerto comes to Cape Cod


I’m pleased to announce that Identity: Zhongshan Zhuang, the guzheng concerto which I wrote with Victor Cheng, recently added another US performance to its history. The Cape Symphony performed the concerto this past Saturday and Sunday, including it with a selection of pieces from or related to Asian cultures.

As with every performance of the concerto to date, Su Chang returned as soloist. The Cape Cod Times said, she “plucked the multi-stringed guzheng robustly, creating an alluring sound-world, her vibrato extracting a vocalist’s texture from the instrument”.

Our recording of the concerto is available on most digital music marketplaces, including Amazon and Apple Music/iTunes. Orchestras interested in performing the piece can visit Janen Music Publishing for more information.

August 2015

In Hell’s Bright Shadow

I was pleased to team up with fellow composer Kyle Johnson and create original music for the Syrinscape sound pack “In Hell’s Bright Shadow”. Syrinscape is the licensed provider of audio accompaniment for Paizo’s popular Pathfinder tabletop RPG. Fantasy scores are one of my favorite genres of music, and hence I had a lot of fun with this project.

January 2015
0 Comment

The San Francisco Symphony to perform “Identity” guzheng concerto

San Francisco Symphony Chinese New Year concert

The world-renowned San Francisco Symphony will perform Michael’s concerto for guzheng as part of a February Chinese New Year Concert. The concert will be conducted by Mei-Ann Chen, who also conducted the concerto last year with the Chicago Sinfonietta. Su Chang will join the Symphony as guzheng soloist.

The concert will be on February 21st, 2015. More information can be found here.

June 2014
1 Comment

Identity guzheng concerto performed by Chicago Sinfonietta

In May 2014 Michael’s concerto for guzheng and orchestra (“Identity: Zhongshan Zhuang”, co-written with Victor Cheng) continued its concert tour of the United States with two performances by the renowned Chicago Sinfonietta, under the baton of maestro Mei-Ann Chen. Guzheng virtuoso Su Chang returned as soloist. The concerto was programmed alongside a number of other orchestral works with European and Far Eastern folk music influences.

Audiences were enthusiastic during both performances in Naperville and Symphony Center in downtown Chicago, breaking into applause even between movements.

From the Chicago Tribune Local (Aurora): “It was unforgettable and made me fall in love with this beautiful instrument and with such touching Chinese music. The combination of a modern symphonic orchestra and an ancient Chinese instrument sounded so unique … [it] should be presented to more and more audiences in the world”

Michael Gordon Shapiro, Mei-Ann Chen, guzheng soloist Su Chang, co-composer/producer Victor Cheng.

Morituri Te Salutant // Michael Gordon Shapiro - HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  1. Morituri Te Salutant // Michael Gordon Shapiro - HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  2. Emerald, Texas // HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  3. Mythic Battle // HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  4. The Yard Sale // Michael Gordon Shapiro - HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  5. Investigations // HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  6. Home Room // HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  7. Sands of Arabia // HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  8. Spider Cult // HOMEPAGE MUSIC
  9. Poker Night // HOMEPAGE MUSIC