Blog Post

01 February 2013

“Identity” concerto available for orchestral rental; soloist subsidy grant announced

0 Comment

Orchestral scores and parts for Identity: Zhongshan Zhuang, a concerto for guzheng and orchestra, are now available for rental from Janen Music.

Composed by Michael Gordon Shapiro and Victor Cheng, the piece puts the 3800-year-old Chinese folk instrument at the fore of the Western orchestra in new take on a traditional concerto setting. Identity has had performances in the United States, Canada, and several cities in Mainland China, most notably in Beijing by the China National Symphony. Janen Music is now making the piece available to American orchestras for the first time.

Recognizing that most American orchestras don’t have access to a guzheng player, Hanyi Inc will subsidize travel and accommodations for a renowned guzheng virtuoso, Su Chang – effectively providing a soloist for the piece at no cost to the host orchestra! This offer is made possible through a grant offered by Hanyi, motivated by a desire to help share this music more widely throughout the United States, and to introduce American audiences to the guzheng. The grant will be awarded to up to six qualified orchestras for performances in 2013 or 2014.

For more information on the piece or the grant, please visit Identity’s page at Janen Music.


Leave a Reply

Morituri Te Salutant // Michael Gordon Shapiro - Highlights
  1. Morituri Te Salutant // Michael Gordon Shapiro - Highlights
  2. Emerald, Texas // Highlights
  3. Mythic Battle // Highlights
  4. The Yard Sale // Michael Gordon Shapiro - Highlights
  5. Investigations // Highlights
  6. Home Room // Highlights
  7. Sands of Arabia // Highlights
  8. Spider Cult // Highlights
  9. Poker Night // Highlights